PANDAS and girlfriends

PANDAS

It stands for Pediatric Autoimmune Neuropsychiatrical Disorders. It is used to describe some children with OCD and tic disorders. The symptoms commonly worsen after strep infection (Strep Throat) and scarlet fever, and it is associated with Steptococcal infections. It might be similar to Rheumatic Fever. In Rheumatic Fever, the illness is triggered by strep throat infections, so then it produces antibodies to fight the infection. Unfortunately, the antibodies mistakenly attack heart valves, joints, and/or certain parts of the brain.

PANDAS is believed to attack the Basal Ganglia. The Basal Ganglia is theorized to be responsible for movement and behavior.

 

Diagnoses

OCD and Tic disorders

Pediatric onset of symptoms

Episodic course of symptom severity

-OCD and Tics are very sudden, then improve slowly

-Gets worse after getting strep throat

-The symptoms can last for months.

 

Symptoms

ADHD like symptoms

Seperation Anxiety

Mood Changes

Sleep disturbances

Nighttime wetting/daytime urining frequency

Fine/gross motor changes

Joint Pains

 

 

 

Treatment

-Same for children with OCD and Tic disorders

–Combination SSRI medication helps.

I wish I had a girlfriend. I had one, but we broke up a few months ago. She said I was too distant, too cold. She said that I didn’t talk about my feelings. That I didn’t open up to her. I tried to, but there’s nothing for me to say.

 

I felt bad after we broke up but I got over it. Yet still, I miss having a companion. Also, if I get a new girlfriend, she can help me pay the bills.

 

My dream girl or girl of my dreams will be nice, smart, assertive, calm, and pretty—can’t forget that.

 

Well, I hoped you (the readers) enjoyed my little wish-girl.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About doctorpatrick

Just a man interested in the medical field.

Posted on November 15, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment